Back to normal

Well, the snow didn’t even last 24 hours and we have been returned to a more typical weather pattern: rain – followed by showers, with intermittent sprinkles and drizzling, mixed with bouts of wind to make umbrellas useless. Fun!

Work is really busy for me right now as I close out 2010 and get 2011 all set up and rolling. Spreadsheets fill my days and by 5pm all I want is a drink and a nap. I love my job, but the span from December to the end of January is so busy I can hardly breathe. The upside is that the days fly by and I just realized that tomorrow is Friday! Woot!

Post hijack: my seventeen year-old son just said, “I’m tired of eating today.” That’s an odd comment, even for him; the boy burns calories like there’s no tomorrow and it seems he is always eating or snacking. When I inquired about this “too much food” phenomenon, he said he’d eaten three slices of pizza, a 1/4 pound hamburger, and about three servings of lasagna – since he got home from school less than five hours ago. The lasagna was dinner, with bread and veggies on the side, plus I’ve seen him snacking on chocolate this evening and I bet he’s eaten a lemon bar (or two) as well. Pure physics should make this kind of eating impossible – his stomach is not that big!  The sheer speed of metabolism boggles my mind and makes me more than a little envious. Me, whose metabolism barely outranks a rock. It isn’t fair.

Anyhoo, the holidays are packed back into the attic and the house is (mostly) in order. I’m finally getting around to mailing out school pictures of the youngest two, and I’ve got a letter or two I need to compose as well. We are in that lull between house projects where we don’t quite know where to start but we don’t want to let too much time lapse or we may become accustomed to not working on the house – and heaven knows what that would lead to. Leisurely walks? Star gazing? Picnics? The horrors!

There is a brand new tankless water heater staring at me and as soon as we figure out how to install the thing we’ll be back into the home improvement saddle – but for now, tonight, I’m enjoying the quiet and relaxation. I could get used to this.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

