The little garden that (almost) could

It’s nice to know that even during a slow, cold spring there are things I can grow in the garden. Chives, for example. They love love love the weather we’ve been having, and even after hacking out a clump to give to a friend, my chives burst forth with abundance. You can see my puny tomatoes in the background, they are not doing well at all. But the chives! Look at ’em!

Also doing well are some flowers I put in to try and draw the eye away from the pathetic veggies. These African Daisies are a simply gorgeous addition to the bed, and some blue star creeper is also flowering.  Nearby, strawberries have put out a few tentative blooms, but I haven’t seen any bees yet.

The squash starts are barely larger than when I put them in the ground a month ago. They, at least, appear healthy despite the slow growth.

The snap peas have also been a challenge. About half germinated (the ones on the right-hand side of my towers, for some unexplained reason) and the rest just rotted in the ground. I’m going to replant next week and see what happens.

I hear we are supposed to get a couple days of 70+ degree days soon, which will really help get things going. In the back, I still have daffodils. Daffs, in June. Crazy, I tell ya. The Columbine are flowering as well, and the potatoes have finally started to take off – I need to add the third level of boards to the tater crib tonight.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

