Eighteen and counting

Sending out big birthday wishes to my son today! No matter how tall, how pierced, how grown-up he gets, he will always be my little dimpled, green-eyed buddy.

The baby who was attached to my hip and wouldn’t let me use the bathroom by myself without screaming bloody murder. The little boy who wore his Tigger costume every single day until it was too small to get on and put gloves on his feet when he was four and acted like a monkey. The kid who has had more hairstyles and hair colors than anyone I know.

The kid who told me his new baby sister was too red and noisy to keep in the house. The teen who has tested my patience and scared the living daylights out of me on more than one occassion. The kid who is not afraid to be silly.

The young man I worry about, drink coffee with, and have such high hopes for. The one who rarely raises his voice but never fails to let you know when he’s unhappy. 

The young man with a big heart and a great sense of humor, who weathered the worst of the teenage years and came through an intelligent, thoughtful, determined young adult.

The one you can’t tell what to do. The one who watches the *worst* movies ever made, but also watches some awesome documentaries.  

The artist, the musician, the grammar nazi (as ironic as that is, considering how much trouble he had with reading and spelling as a youngster). 

 The one who not only marches to the beat of a different drum, he is his own drummer. Happy birthday, Jordan. I love you so much!

(this pic taken today)

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

