Mission: Knit-down

I have a goal, and I’m going to throw it out here in the public blogosphere so that others may hold me accountable. (that’s a bit of a joke, because I know how few people actually read my blog – but whatever: humor my delusions of grandeur.)

My goal is to knit down my stash of yarn until I have an empty bin / basket / shelf in my existing* yarn storage space.

The main (and honest) reason behind this goal is so that I may shop guilt-free on January 21st, when I ride the rails for a day of fiber gorging via the Seattle to Portland Yarn Train Event.

Fortunately for me, Christmas is between now and the Yarn Train, and this presents the perfect opportunity for stash knitting! I don’t have sweater quantities of any one yarn, but I don’t knit sweaters for people over the age of about five anyway… I do have copious amounts of sock yarn, worsted-weight wools, cotton, a bit of alpaca, some hand-spun, and tons of partial skeins just begging to become striped something-or-others.

 (*this is an important point, because yarn storage happens all over the house, and my goal is not to add yarn storage or cram more yarn into nooks and crannies or the ever-handy tote bag, but to actually create free space in the many containers that have already been consumed by yarn.)

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mission: Knit-down

  1. Erica says:

    Good idea!

  2. Rachelle says:

    I’m working on the same thing, though I have been slightly sidetracked by some handspun that I spun up which has a deadline to be finished. There is however a box in the craft room that is out and my next projects are coming from that.

Leave a Reply

