Homemade applesauce

The easiest thing to can is applesauce – no measuring needed, no ‘recipe’ to follow. I made some today and took pictures along the way.  (This is not a thorough canning tutorial – I’m presuming you know the basic equipment needed and steps to take – if not, THIS is a great website.)

First off, you need apples. Just about any kind, but the sweeter ones don’t require added sugar; I had a mix of red and yellow, about four different varieties. Wash them well. You also need canning jars and lids, plus a large deep pot for the water bath processing. Wash those, too.  I made sure to have plenty of jars ready, since I didn’t know how much applesauce I would get.

Slice the apples and remove the cores, but leave the skins on for added flavor. I used one of those handy corer/slicer things to do it in one step. Cut out any bruised or yucky parts. Put 1″ of water into a large pot (no more, or you’ll have apple soup), and add the sliced apples. Bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.

Continue to simmer and stir until the apples are soft and the skins come off. Make sure the jars and lids are ready, with jars simmering in the processing pot.

At this point, you need to remove the skins and mush the apples. I used the peeler/seeder attachment on my KitchenAid, but you can do this with a hand-operated food mill as well. (If you have none of these, you may want to peel the apples at the beginning and them mash them with a potato masher after cooking. Or I suppose you can pick the skins out by hand…)

The skins and any seeds come out the front, while the fruit slush comes out the back and into the bowl. Toss the skin paste into the compost or worm bin.

And dump the applesauce back into the large pot. Keep warm, but no need to boil it. Add cinnamon to taste, if desired.

Fill hot jars to within 1/4″ of top, wipe rims, set lids and screw on bands. Water process for 15 minutes, then allow to sit and cool undisturbed. Since I used both red and yellow apples, my applesauce has a pink tinge. I ate the last couple of spoonfuls that wouldn’t fit in a jar, and it is delicious! Perfectly, naturally sweet with no sugar needed.

(finished applesauce, cooling. I got 7 jars total from the apples pictured at the top. Small jar in front is a typical jelly jar, and the smallest one I used.)

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade applesauce

  1. wonkydonkey says:

    Quick note on the Kitchen Aid attachment: it’s actually two, the Food Grinder and the Fruit and Vegetable Strainer Parts (which attach to the Food Grinder base). We use the Food Grinder to make ground beef and sausage, and the Strainer Parts to take seeds out of jam or remove skins like in this applesauce.

Leave a Reply

