It’s in the bag

My commuter projects continue to be knitting, but my at-home projects have become sewing.  Since Friday evening, I’ve been making small, zippered, box bags. Folks who knit and crochet call them project bags, because they are just the right size for a small project (hats, socks, scarves, etc.).  I keep one under my desk at work and fill it with granola bars and protein shake mixes. The bags would also be cute toiletry bags.

While I have made these before as gifts, this weekend I decided to whip out a bunch of them in the hopes of putting them up for sale – perhaps on Etsy or at a local craft show. One must have an inventory before one tries to sell stuff. I had a good assortment of fabric and a few zippers in my stash, but had to pick up some additional materials, and then I set to work. Cutting and ironing, folding and sewing, making mistakes and fixing them. I figured out how to assembly-line most of the process and ended up with 14 bags by Sunday afternoon (I was not sewing the entire weekend – I do have a family!).

They turned out great! I posted pics to our knitting groups on Facebook and several people put dibs on bags. Another knitter offered to put some on her table at a local craft show this weekend. Totally made my day! Last night I popped back to the fabric store for more supplies and cut out several more bags. I should be able to get them sewn together tonight and have a good assortment for the craft show. Fingers crossed that they sell well. If they do, I may work on a couple different sizes.

 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Sewing & Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s in the bag

  1. Erica says:

    I love these and can’t wait to see them in person. I’m a bit of a bag whore anyways, so I suspect I’ll be leaving knit night with at least the one I put dibs on (hopefully more!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

