New to-do

I had a bit of negative progress on the red lace scarf, and charts are not train-friendly anyway, so I grabbed a fix-it project as my new commuter knitting. I am reknitting a pair of socks that turned out too big around. It only took a couple minutes to unpick the knot and cast on new toes, directly from the too-big socks.  While it’s odd to knit with ramen yarn, there is something to be said for not having to deal with balls of yarn rolling about.

I have the equivalent of a mending basket but with yarny stuff in it. I took stock of these projects this weekend, and think I need to commit to a few weeks of clearing my to-do list before I get the irrestible urge to cast on something brand new, so I’ll be working through a pile of almost-finished, and just-needs-the-ends-woven-in, and I-keep-meaning-to-fix-this projects – starting with these too-big socks that have been glaring at me for months. Right this minute, here is what I can think of that needs attention: one fully knitted gift needing toggles (had to order them online), sew clasps on my own woolie vest, seam up a granny square blanket, re-knit the heels on another pair of socks, re-knit the outer edge on a baby blanket, rip out a pair of sock toes that I can’t stand (bad yarn/pattern combo), darn a hole in a sock, and re-knit the button band on a cardigan that I’ve been unhappy with for ages and ages and don’t wear because the button band turned out so badly. I also have a couple of WIP’s that I can work on when I get tired of fixing things – the red lace scarf and a recently found half-knit shawl (it was lost for about a year. This sh0uld in no way reflect poorly on my organization skills.).

Speaking of knitting, the Yarn Harlot had a fantabulous final post on what to give a knitter for Christmas. It’s applicable to any handmade gift at any time of year, and I hope she doesn’t mind that I’m copying a bit in right here:

“Knitting may look like stuff made out of yarn, but it isn’t.  Knitting is actually a container, that your knitter has filled with time and love.  Time that they chose to give to another person, that they could have spent doing anything else in the world.  When you see a knitted object, don’t see a hat, or a sweater, or a pair of socks.  See twenty, forty, a hundred hours of your knitters life that they have decided that you, or someone else is worth.  (How much time did you spend getting their present?) Understand that far from being a thrifty or lesser way of giving a gift, things that are handmade are the most expensive objects there are.”

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Terrible Knitters of Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

