Snow day(s)

I love snow. There, I said it. I love watching it fall, I like walking in it, I like how it muffles sounds and slows things down. Some folks were lamenting our lack of snow so far this winter, and I quietly agreed. I find snow peaceful and relaxing. A group of friends and I had planned a weekend out of town at the family cabin, and we checked it a few days ahead of time to see if there was any snow. Nope.

You never know in the mountains, though (and it is January after all), so I made sure everyone was prepared for snow. Good thing, to – just a few minutes after we arrived it began to snow. Literally, minutes after we arrived.

Throughout the day we gazed out the windows, taking frequent walks in the snow. We saw several eagles and hawks, but no other wildlife. It was quiet, and snow periodically fell in large clumps from the trees and slid from the roof in rumbling mini-avalanches. I brought plenty of knitting and spinning to keep me busy, but had no problem setting it down to head outside.

Sunday morning we woke to even more snow, topped with a glittery layer that sparkled like diamond dust. The trees were encased in snow, rendering the world in black and white.

Sunday continuted accumulating snow, and we made an effort to clear pathways. Really, it was just an excuse to play in the snow.

We packed up and headed out shortly after noon on Monday, and it was still snowing – with roughly 8-9″ of accumulation. I would have loved to stay but home and work called.

A nice surprise awaited me at home – snow!

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

