On ice

Just a quick post today, because our power is out at home and the internet has been sketchy all week, so my online time is limited to breaks at work and I really want to get home now…

It’s been a long four days of snow and ice, with the  Seattle area virtually shutting down. I live on top of a hill and we always get more snow than the surrounding lowlands, but this time pretty much everyone got hit to some degree. I take public transportation to and from work so I can usually get to work even if the freeways are mucked up, but yesterday things iced over so completely that even our light rail system was shut down and I was not able to make it to work.The unexpected snow day would have been more enjoyable if I wasn’t so frozen from my morning failed attempts to get to work, but I did end up going outside to play in the snow for a little while.

It’s difficult to tell exactly how much snow we got, because it would snow then rain then ice then snow some more, so everything compacted down. At least 8″ though, for sure. I’ll leave you with a few photos of our snow and ice – it was beautiful, but it’s too bad it resulted in massive power outages and downed trees.

Frozen raspberry canes

 

Encased in ice, no way in.

 

Crunching through the ice layer, feeling like Godzilla! Rawr!

 

Ice Lantern

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, The Great Outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

