Zoom zoom

This week has flown by!

The husband got a promotion (yay!) that included a switch back to day shift; he’s worked nights for years and years, so this is a bit of an adjustment for both of us. It’s awesome to be able to do things as a couple in the evening; we went to the mall one night, and watched a movie on another. And we get to eat dinner together!

The middle son is learning to drive, and seems to have a propensity for speed… Going to have to keep an eye on that one. He practices every chance he gets, which probably isn’t often enough for his liking.

We’ve got the new garden ‘installed’ in the backyard and half planted. I will sow seeds in the other half this weekend: peas, beans, zucchini, pumpkin, lettuce, etc. There is a long list of yardwork waiting for us, as we’re still pulling out undesirable plants and putting in ones more suited for each area.

I’ve been going to Zumba classes for about six weeks now and have dropped a few pounds. My legs are stronger and I’m starting to see a hint of the waist that’s been hiding for decades. I’ve got a ways to go yet, but I am enjoying the classes and have let go of my inhibitions so that I shake and shimmy with as much energy as I can muster. I’m sure my kids would be mortified, and I am certain nobody over the age of about 25 should be attempting these moves in public, but nobody has asked me to leave yet. 🙂

In knitting news, I have been working on a couple pairs of socks, a shawl, and a market bag, and occasionally put a row into an afghan. I will finish off one pair of the socks this weekend, for sure.

I’ve got a craft show coming up next month, so I need to spend some time prepping. There’s a new tent to test out (to make sure it’s going to keep out the rain so we don’t have a repeat of last year), labels to print, lotions to make, signs to update, displays to finish…

Plus, we’ve got an exchange student arriving in seven weeks. There is stuff we need to get done before she gets here.

Summer always seems to go so quickly!

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Gardening, House stuff, Kids & Pets, Knitting & Crochet, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zoom zoom

  1. kris says:

    how did i not know you had this? ok so how out of the loop is your lil brother?

Leave a Reply

