Smooties and socks

Rather embarassingly, I allowed myself to be cajoled into entering an office weight loss challenge. We have three months and the goal is simply to lose the highest percentage of starting weight (which was frightening); there’s a twenty dollar buy-in and the winner takes the pot, which is sitting at a hundred bucks. A chance to win a hundered bucks doing something I need to be doing anyway? Yeah, didn’t take much arm-twisting…

I’ve been going to Zumba two to three times a week for the past six weeks, and volleyball season just started – plus, spring arrived in Seattle so it’s pleasant enough to get some walking done in the evenings or at lunch – getting exercise shouldn’t be too much of a problem. The eating, on the other hand, needs a bit of tweaking because it’s ice cream season! (heh, isn’t it always?) I’m working on trimming the simple carbs and increasing the whole foods that I eat. Fortunately, I work right next to a public market so I can pick up produce any time I want.  Unfortunately, this same market offers a good variety of tempting treats which do nothing to help me reach my goal. Must. Stay. Focused. and avoid the mini-donut hut.

This morning I kicked off my day with a smootie, made with half a banana, 1/4 cup each of frozen blueberries, raspberries, mangos, yogurt, protein powder, and a cup of skim milk. I put it in my insulated, reusable smoothie cup and sipped it during my morning commute. Tasty and filling, with no added sugar (the fruit has plenty), and roughly 250 calories.  Lunch will be soup and a small baked potato sprinkled with lemon juice (try it, it’s a surprisingly good substitute for butter), and of course I’ll be drinking unsweetened iced tea all day. Don’t give me a bad time about the caffeine. It’s either tea or coffee, and since it’s too warm to be drinking coffee, tea is my beverage of choice. I’m just happy I’ve gotten to where I can drink it without sugar.

In between smootie sips on the train this morning, I got the second striped supersocke knit to the same length as the first, which is roughly at the base of my toes. I then put them both on the same needle so I can finish them off together. These are supposed to be for Chris, so I’ll knit another inch on the foot before doing the toe decreases. Wouldn’t it be a shame if they ended up fitting me, though? 😉

 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Health & Wellness, Knitting & Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

