Baby girl

Yesterday was my daughter’s birthday – sixteen years old! That is so difficult to comprehend. She is turning into such a beautiful, wonderful, funny young adult and I’m very proud of her, but I still see her as a little girl running around with a sticky face and pigtails. I guess all parents have a hard time accepting that their kids are growing up, but since she is the youngest it’s easy to keep her in the “baby” role in my head.

We had a busy weekend and yesterday was a regular school/work day for us, plus the girl has after-school activities so we celebrated her birthday on Sunday evening with the traditional family Birthday Dinner (sushi this year!). I get the feeling she thinks her birthday was swept under the rug a bit, but it’s a challenge to find celebration time because for some reason, there has always been a Girl Scout function the weekend of her birthday and the following weekend is of course Memorial Day weekend. She either has to celebrate early or late, or like this year – in pieces. We had the family night, she’ll do something with friends soon.

My only daughter, and I love her to pieces! Happy birthday, baby girl.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

