Swamp Socks

Fresh on the heels (!) of the Frankensocks, I’ve got another pair of scrap-yarn socks lined up: this time, in mostly-solid dark greens and just a bit of brown. (I changed my mind about the blue/green self-striping yarn for now.) The colors are earthy and foresty and remind me of a thriving pond with the various shades of green;  swampy, but in a good way. I have eight wee yarn balls wound and numbered in the order in which I think they will look best, going from dark to light.

HAD eight wee yarn balls. Amelia claimed ball #3 for herself and she snuck it out of the bag last night, burying it under a towel on the living room floor. I discovered the hidden treasure this morning, when I heard her digging under the towel in what I thought was an attempt to burrow under the towel (she loves to be under blankets and such) but was apparently an attempt to shove the yarn further in where I wouldn’t find it. She was extra sneaky this time, because she left the bag and the other seven yarn balls right where I left them on the dining room table. She didn’t even knock the bag over. Ball #3 is a bit tattered and I have yet to determine if it is usable (she has a tendency to bite the yarn into smaller pieces), but here is a pic of the yarns before she went on her fishing expedition:

I cast on the toes but haven’t decided upon a stitch pattern yet – need to dive into one of my sock books to see what might work with stripes. Something fairly subtle, maybe just a rib variation?

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Ravelry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

