Bye-bye baggies

If you know me, you know that I have a “thing” against disposable items. We (as a society) throw out so much stuff, and it drives me batty. Recycling, yes, that’s an option – but the item still has to be made, shipped, stored, picked up, stored some more, recycled with massive use of resources… Better to not go through so much in the first place.

I also have a “thing” against plastic in general and actively try to reduce my consumption of it. I pack a lunch most days in reusable containers (glass, usually), but find myself wanting to pack something loose like carrot sticks or cookies – and it just becomes too many containers in my lunch bag.  Baggies take up much less space, and when I do use a plastic baggie, I wash and reuse it until it falls apart (which doesn’t take long, they are very flimsy). But I’d rather use something that will last a lot longer, like for years.

Enter reusable ‘baggies’, or snack bags. There are quite a few out there on the market and I have tried some that I didn’t really like, but I recently purchased some bags that I am absolutely loving and I want to give them a shout-out.

Re Pac Bags are sewn in the USA, machine washable, come in a variety of sizes, have a convenient zipper closure, and are available in a range of beautiful fabrics. They are lined with nylon, so foods stay moist (those carrot sticks were in that bag for ten hours, and they aren’t dried out at all!). The company ran a Living Social ad and I jumped on the chance to try them out. I ordered all three sizes. The small (pictured)  is perfect for a serving of nuts, carrots, celery, etc.  The medium will hold most average-sized sandwiches. The large is pretty spacious – it will hold one of those big gourmet Dagwood-type sandwiches or enough chips for a small picnic.  Of course, the bags can be used for non-food purposes as well.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Getting Green, Health & Wellness, Product Raves, Product Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

