Stitch ‘n Pitch

I enjoy baseball, knitting, chatting out with friends, and playing with babies. Put them all together on a gorgeous evening in an open-air stadium, throw in some drool-worthy booths to shop at, season with heaps of garlic fries, and you have yourself a Stitch ‘n Pitch.

(the glove gets yarn-bombed)

We did, of course, have the cheap seats – giving us a birds-eye view of the field. Literally. The seagulls were flying by at eye level, which was kind of strange.

(stick figures on the field. Who’s on first?)

Our section of  knitters and crocheters was entertaining, colorful, and friendly. Just about everyone was working on something yarny, and a rainbow of colors surrounded us. It was so cheerful to see all the bright bits of knitting when I glanced around the stands!

And then I noticed a guy sitting two rows down from me, decked out in Mariners apparel. What caught my eye was a flash of pink and purple as he folded the fabric on his lap. And then I saw that he was actually knitting that blanket, and it made my day. Knitting has for some reason become stereotyped as a craft that little old ladies do, but men are perfectly capable of handcrafts (in fact, some of my favorite knitwear designers are men). I just love seeing men knit in public, especially when they are confident enough to be working on such a froofie project. 🙂

(real men knit with fluffy purple and pink yarn)

As for me, I worked on a small scarf, bought a few skeins of yummy yarn, and played with a beautiful baby who was fascinated with my baseball cap.  It does a soul good to hear a baby gurgle and giggle! Though it made for a late evening on a work night, I thoroughly enjoyed the Stitch ‘n Pitch at Safeco Field. And the Mariners won!

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

