Rockefeller – the final bit

Today we received Clue 4 (the final one) for the Rockefeller KAL over on Ravelry. Fortunately, there are some really speedy knitters out there who have gotten a good start on the clue so we can see what it looks like, and some have already made modifications to the pattern! I am thankful for this because honestly, I don’t like the clue as-written… I’m not a huge fan of garter stitch and that’s all that this last clue is. And striped garter at that. If my yarns were closer in color I think it would be fine, but with the high contrast it just reminds me of a bumblebee…

I have loved the shawl thus far and it would be a shame to finish it off with something that I wouldn’t be equally enamored with, so I will be doing a whole bunch of the mods already suggested for this final clue. Most notably: less garter. I’ll be knitting the green in stockinette and the purple in garter so that it matches the main two sections of the shawl, and I’ll be making the i-cord edge solid color as well (again, to match what’s already there). I’ll also be reversing the decreases so the shawl makes more of a crescent shape rather than a “U” shape as written.

I can’t get started on the knitting quite yet, but here’s my shawl as of last night – posed on the (dormant) lawn with very little daylight left so it’s a bit washed out. As I was arranging it, a teeny tiny baby grasshopper jumped onto the middle of the shawl! The little guy was only 1/4″ long, but was an impressive jumper. And quick, too – I couldn’t get him on camera.

Clue 4 has us picking up stitches from each edge (facing to the right in my pic) and knitting long ‘wings’ to wrap around. This should be a very wearable shape. One final thing on this shawl that I would have modified if I’d known how it was going to turn out: the initial cast-on should have been provisional so that we would have live stitches like the final edge that we put on a stitch holder. It’s silly to do a regular cast on if you are later going to have to pick up stitches in it.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Ravelry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rockefeller – the final bit

  1. keisha says:

    That is very pretty.

Leave a Reply

