Falling to pieces

Once upon a time, I set out to make scrap quilts for each of my three kids. Red for Kyle, blue for Jordan, and purple for Olivia. I finished Kyle’s quilt and it has gotten good use over the years. So much so that the binding is all frayed and it is bunny-soft from being washed repeatedly.

I never finished the other two, and today I dug them out of my sewing closet to see how they looked. Jordan’s is mostly pieced, though it is a bit too narrow yet; I have a stack of blue fabrics to make side pieces for it.

20120819-171804.jpg

Olivia’s is considerably less finished…

20120819-171830.jpg

And apparently I had planned a second quilt for Olivia, as I found a stack of flannel squares.

20120819-172123.jpg

I also pulled out some strips I made of vintage fabrics not that long ago. I got these bits on etsy; they are from old flour sacks. They vary quite a bit in texture and weight, and there isn’t a lot of them so I’ll be spacing them apart with unbleached muslin strips.

20120819-172229.jpg

I’m almost done sewing the binding on the blue strip quilt, then I think I’ll see about finishing up Jordan’s quilt. The windmill pieces can wait a bit longer. As I was sorting through all these partial quilts, hubby commented that it looked like I was going on a quilting bender. I said it was going to appear that I was quite the speedy quilter, as I’d have a bunch of finished quilts in a relatively short span of time.  Unfortunately, I’ve already shown the ‘net how most of these have a head-start and any attempts at claiming to be a speedy quilter will likely fall on disbelieving eyes. 🙂

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Sewing & Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling to pieces

  1. Kyle says:

    Hah, one of the perks of being firstborn 😛

Leave a Reply

