Contentment

Friday I took a much-needed day off to take care of a long list of errands that just can’t be done on the weekends, and Saturday was completely consumed with KnitFit!, where I took a couple of classes and bought just four hanks of roving and no yarn from the marketplace. Not that I wasn’t tempted in the marketplace with all the lovely vendors, but I managed to reign in my willpower and stayed within my budget, while adding some lovely merino and BFL to the box-o-spinning-fiber.

One of the classes I took was on knitting from silk hankies, which intrigued me ages ago when the Yarn Harlot made a pair of mittens from them. It’s much easier than I thought it would be, and the resulting fabric is both warm and lightweight. Here’s a bunch of samples that my class knit up after learning to pull roving from the hankies:

The other class I took was on two-handed fair isle, which included learning how to do a two-color cast on and twined knitting instead of having floats along the inside of the work. I’ve wanted to learn to do this, because my fair isle is never very good, and the floats drive me crazy (ugh, can you imagine those in a pair of socks??). It was the most challenging thing I’ve tried to do in a long time, and my brain was completely exhausted after the class. My right hand just doesn’t know how to hold yarn, let alone hold yarn while also holding yarn in my left hand. We got a pattern for an Andean hat with ear flaps, which we practiced on during the class but my attempt had such lousy tension that I ripped it out as soon as I got home. I’ll try again after I get the technique down.

After wrestling with that for three hours, I didn’t have the fortitude to knit anything when I got home, so I spun some lovely merino / silk while we watched The Pink Panther (the original, of course). Got most of the 4 ounces spun up, now I have to decide whether to navajo ply or just regular 2-ply.

Sunday was for family. After a trip to the grocery store (where I saved 32% off the total with the use of coupons!), I spent the day tackling a little gardening and raking of leaves but mostly prepping a big dinner to welcome my oldest son back to the state! I am so excited to have him back where I can see him, and hug him, and feed him lasagna and no-bake cookies. It was awesome. This is one happy mama, having all my kids nearby.  With both boys out on their own, the house has been quiet and I’ve been trying to learn how to cook for three; Sunday gave me the chance to cook in my comfort zone (aka: with big pans).

On the knitting front, I finished up a cat, another scrap square, and am working on the thumbs of the rose mitts. I also cast on a pair of leg warmers this morning because it’s getting to be that kind of weather.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

