Spin to knit

It’s taken me awhile to accept that my handspun yarns are not horrible. They aren’t fantastic – I still have a hard time getting them consistent in twist and thickness – but every skein is a little better than the previous one. I’ve got a shelf for my handspun yarns, and it’s too full to stuff more into so I figured I’d better start making stuff with the yarn so that I can keep spinning. (especially now that I have such a pretty new wheel!) I consider myself an advanced beginner spinner, totally self-taught, and always working on getting more consistent singles.

But you know what? My yarns are not that bad. I can’t yet spin for a particular project (see above note about consistent thickness), so I just spin a batt or length of roving and get whatever kind of yarn comes off the wheel. (I’m a bit cavalier about my spinning.) Mostly, my yarns are around a DK weight, sometimes a worsted, and yardage is all over the board. Since I usually only buy 2-4 ounce amounts of fiber, I’m not expecting sweater-quantities of yarn; a skein or two (sometimes three) is typical of any given fiber that I spin. These are well suited for small projects.

And what continues to surprise me is that a skein that looks uneven, too loose, or has the occasional lump quite often knits up into a lovely fabric that disguises all those spinning ‘flaws’ that kept me from using my own handspun for so long.

I have a gift wrapped up that I knit with a wool yarn I spun last year. It was a bit lumpy, but I held the yarn double and it became a cozy hat that I think the recipient will enjoy (no pic, gotta keep it secret).

On Sunday I cast on another project with handspun; it’s also a stealth project, but here’s a pic because the recipient will never ever guess what it is at this point:

(the egg shape is intentional. Yarn is two-ply wool, and is actually a burgundy color.)

And this morning on the train I cast on yet another project with my handspun yarn; this time, the yarn is wool and silk and has a lovely drape and slight sheen from the silk content.

There are also two large, lofty skeins of handspun in rose and pale purple calling my name; I think they’d look lovely made into a soft, bulky cowl of some sort.

Someday I’d like to be able to spin enough yarn to make myself a sweater, but for now I’m perfectly happy making small projects that highlight the character of the yarns I spin.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

