Social art

A couple of months ago, a friend of mine started something. I’m not sure if she understood exactly what she was doing, or maybe she did. She is also a crafty person, and she thought that I (and a few other friends) might enjoy a little activity known as a “paint and sip”. Rightly so.

(the blank canvas; so much potential!)

The concept is simple: for a fee, you get all the supplies and instruction necessary to paint your very own piece of art. The canvas, paint, brushes, apron, and a beverage (because those creative juices flow more freely when you can take the edge off after a long day at work); and they even clean up for you.  It’s a guided painting class, and since I became aware of this I have seen quite a few places offering it and let’s just say I am intrigued.

Ok, not just intrigued. I did one in December, and last night I went with two friends to paint again – at Arts ‘n Carafes.

(D. has just completed the background for her masterpiece)

See, I love to make stuff. I do paint and draw, but it’s a challenge working the time into my daily routines (plus, I’d have to go buy paints and supplies), and besides: I’d rather schedule the occasional night out to go and let my creative streak run wild with some friends.

These painting classes are so much fun! For a couple of hours you get to socialize in an inviting atmosphere, and you go home with a completed, unique work of art made by your very own hands. If you have one in your area, I highly recommend that you check it out. You don’t have to be an artist; it’s fine if you’ve never even held a paintbrush before.  The instructors guide you through each step, offering suggestions and encouragement.

(my painting from last night. I love the colors!)

 

 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Product Raves, Soap & Other Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Social art

  1. Beautiful!!! I wish I would have been able to be there – -so what will we paint in Februay?

  2. wonkydonkey says:

    We’ll have to check out the calendar!

Leave a Reply

