Wakey wakey!

Today I woke up the veggie garden – removed the heavy straw winter mulch, hoed up the soil a bit, and added some worm compost. The garlic and onions look great; with spring arriving early I think I’ll plant peas, radishes, and lettuce this week. I need new tomato cages (mind are super wussy and fall over under the weight of ripe tomatoes), and perhaps a simple trellis to keep the zucchini off the soil. For now, it’s still mostly dirt.

20130331-170958.jpg
I planted sunflower seeds in a couple sunny spots, and the peonies and hostas are just poking through the soil. In the flower beds, we have blooms from pansies, daffodils, and mystery blue star flowers that smell wonderful.

20130331-171420.jpg
The hubby and I went on 3.5-mile training walks yesterday and today. Couldn’t ask for better weather! And after today’s walk we enjoyed hot dogs from Skooder’s cart at the marina. Yum!
It’s been a very nice weekend. Too bad I have to go back to work in the morning.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wakey wakey!

  1. Jill Mill says:

    I think those are trilliums! Okay, so a note on cages and tomatoes — I totally rigged mine up a string last year and will never ever go back. Easy peasy.

    Three lengths of PVC, two 90-degree elbows, and two 24″ (or whatever) pieces of rebar. Pound rebar into the soil, slip two of the aforementioned PVC over top, attach elbows and cross bar. When you plant the ‘maters you just tie a jute twine loop around their base, and the other end of the twine to the top bar of your trellis. As they grow, give the tomatoes a twirl around the twine. When they’re done, cut the twine and toss the whole mess into the compost.

    When picking tomatoes, there’s no cage to deal with. And when (or if) you disassemble your contraption, it’s easy to store.

  2. wonkydonkey says:

    Not trilliums – I did a little Googling and found that they are Spring Starflowers (uniflorum for the geeks).

    Tomatoes: Do you just run more strings for the side branches? Or do you prune your toms back so there’s just one central leader?

  3. Jill Mill says:

    Oooh! I’ll have to get my hands on some of those starflowers.

    Tomatoes: I started the season pruning out the suckers for one central leader. Of course, as the plants grew, I would miss suckers that were hiding behind the massive leaves. By the time I found them, they were too big to remove safely. So, I ended up with a few branches from the central vine. This is supposedly okay to do above the first set of fruit, I think. In any case, yes, I tied loops to the side branch bases and ran more strings to the cross bar — everything was kept nice and neat and well above the ground to boot!

    One other tip: use a clove hitch (youtube it if you don’t already know it) to tie the twine to the cross bar. This is a great knot, super sturdy and easy to untie should you need to create more slack in your twine. I found myself untying a few times to lasso an unruly branch or two.

  4. wonkydonkey says:

    Don’t buy any Starflowers; when they go dormant I’ll dig up some bulbs for you. I have plenty! They look really nice naturalized in with Bleeding Hearts & Coral Bells under our Dogwood tree…

Leave a Reply

