In the weeds

An early spring also means an early crop of weeds. Now, I don’t get my knickers in a bunch over the moss or the clover, but I really dislike dandelions and similar weeds. They aren’t fun to walk barefoot on, and they squash down & crowd out the grass (and moss). We avoid dumping pounds of chemicals on the yard, and usually I pull weeds by hand. On occasion, however, we do use a bit of Major Brand weed killer in areas where it’s difficult to pull weeds – like sidewalk cracks or in the retaining wall. I never feel good about it, but you can’t argue it’s effectiveness. I’ve been looking into less harsh options, and am happy to report one that works! And, it seems gentler on the fauna (saw lots of spiders and other wee crawlers as I snapped these photos).
It’s a simple (and cheap) solution of 2 cups vinegar, 1 Tbsp salt, and 1 Tbsp dish soap, mixed in a spray bottle. The soap acts as a wetting agent, and the vinegar & salt do the dirty deed. It’s most effective on dandelions, but I did not spray it in the lawn so I don’t know the effect on grass. I sprayed on Sunday; here’s how the plants look three days later.

20130403-190249.jpg
Also works well on the runaway oregano.

20130403-190423.jpg
It did not work well on these; I don’t know what they are but we get a lot of them. They stink, are sticky, but pull up easily so I wouldn’t spray them ordinarily.

20130403-190601.jpg
And these big boys took a whipping but aren’t dead yet; I think a second application is in order.

20130403-190655.jpg

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

