Eggsperiment

I like hard boiled eggs. They are a great protein snack, and I enjoy them plain or in salads. What I don’t enjoy is the egg smell that fills the fridge – why do boiled eggs have such a strong odor??
Anyway – I read about baking the eggs as an alternative to boiling and thought I’d try it. Got mixed results. I use farm eggs (truly free range), and popped six of them into a muffin pan, then baked them for 30 minutes at 325*F (after which you cool quickly in ice water). When I pulled them from the oven, one had some cracks (which happens sometimes with boiling), and one had exploded. Well, not really exploded – but popped open.

20130406-092645.jpg
I’ve had eggs break and leak a bit while boiling, but not pop open like that. Needless to say, that egg will get eaten first! It’s a fine trade-off: the characteristic egg smell is very light.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Health & Wellness, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

