Show time!

Yeah, it’s been quiet on the blog – but far from it inside my head. You see, I went a little crazy a couple months ago and signed up for way more shows (street fairs/bazaars/craft shows) than I normally do – and for a few days there I got a little panicked about my ability to actually do them. The blog, therefore, took a backseat to my craziness while I prepped and fretted and generally neglected large aspects of my life (including housework).

And ultimately, it seems that I was overreacting just a wee bit and things really are OK. I have a fantastic husband who puts up with me, a daughter who is quickly becoming a young adult, and a great friend who all pitched in to make this weekend not only survivable, but successful and fun.

I spent the last two days manning my booth at the Mother Earth News Fair, at the Puyallup Fairgrounds. It’s rather large and quite a big deal; there were hundreds of workshops and hands-on demonstrations, a huge bookstore, and tons of vendors hawking everything from handmade soap (like me!) to solar panels and composting toilets. Everything was geared towards being more sustainable, environmentally friendly, and self-supporting. It was a great crowd for my soaps, and I met a lot of really great people. I was over-prepared (made too much soap), but this was a total unknown and I always err on the side of “I’d rather have it and not need it than the other way around”, and the good thing is that I have another show in just three weeks and there’s very little I need to make for that one now.

Here’s a couple of pictures of my booth setup.

It’s always a work-in-progress. The dark crates are new this year, so I’m figuring out how to best utilize them. There’s a couple of shelves that I don’t like, and that will be getting replaced before my next show. Overall I’m pretty happy with it but I definitely had too much product so it’s more crowded than I’d like.

There hasn’t been a lot of time for knitting, but I am still in my “finish it up” mode and have finished a pair of vanilla socks in Socks That Rock:

and have been cranking out the lace edge of a shawl that I hope to submit into the state fair this fall. The pattern is My Heaven, and I’m knitting it in “Filigran”, a heavy lace-weight wool. You knit the lace bottom edging first, then pick up and knit the triangular body section. It’s going to need serious blocking to open up the pattern.

This morning I got to the end of the lace edging, which means that next I get to pick up fifteen million stitches along the edge and knit the body of the shawl. We’ll see if I can manage that on the train home tonight.

 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Health & Wellness, House stuff, Kids & Pets, Knitting & Crochet, Soap & Other Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Show time!

  1. soknitsome says:

    Your soaps look lovely and your booth very inviting.
    The fifteen million stitches in my heaven are well-worth picking up – I used filigran for mine too and I love how lightweight, yet cosy it is. But you do need a decent-sized space for blocking!

  2. wonkydonkey says:

    I had a bit of counting failure the first time I tried to pick up the fifteen million stitches, but I got it on the second try and am chugging through the body section. Did you make the small or large size? I’m doing the large, hoping there’s enough yardage!

Leave a Reply

