Lap full of lace

We’ve got a bit of summer happening, three weeks ahead of schedule. It’s a long-standing tradition in Seattle that summer doesn’t start until July 5th, but this year it seems that Mother Nature decided what the heck, let’s try starting summer on the summer solstice. Crazy, I know.

Thing is, the plants are a wee bit confused. Might be a bumper year for tomatoes and zucchini, but I don’t think the snap peas are too happy – the flowers are wilting in the unexpected June heat. The broccoli already bolted, too. I’m taking the opportunity to get acclimated to hell-like temperatures in preparation for our vacation in Texas next month.

On the knitting front, it’s been slow. I don’t like to knit when my hands are sweating, so very little progress to show this week. Instead, I carted off a truckload of donation stuff from my old sewing closet, and got most of the stuff I want to keep moved into my new craft room. There was also a bit of gardening action, weed pulling, lawn mowing – the usual. Chris is working on the front porch project, though its on the hot side of the house so he was pretty miserable out there. He doesn’t do heat well.

Back to the knitting: I’m at the toe of the stripey sock, but my hands needed a break from the little DPNs so I pulled out my Heaven shawl. I’m still not sure if I’ll have enough yarn to finish it but I’m forging ahead. Here’s what it looks like right now, wadded up on my lap on the train:

20130701-082125.jpg

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lap full of lace

  1. soknitsome says:

    I ran out of yarn before finishing mine. It worked out fine – because of the short rows you just end up with a bit of a curve instead of a straight top (neck) edge.

Leave a Reply

