All I want to do

… is sit in my recliner with my wool slippers on and a purring cat on my lap, with cheesy 80s movies cued up on the Netflix, and knit. Is that so wrong?

It’s the weather, I think. The crisp mornings, the chilly evenings, and the bit of frost that has coated the windows a few times signals that it’s time to hunker down and make warm stuff. Gardening time is about done (though I do need to winterize the yard a bit), it’s too cold to hang laundry on the clothesline, and with the temperature drop I can finally make stews and crockpot meals without feeling like I’m turning the kitchen into our own private sauna.

Though a sauna sounds pretty good right about now.

Plus – Christmas is coming! Oh yes, I said it. Handcrafters of the world: it’s go-time. We can put off the baking, but we should be stocking up on the non-perishables right now so that come December 24th we don’t find ourselves burning the midnight oil trying to finish that horribly intricate fair isle XXL sweater in fingering weight yarn that we thought would be a cinch to knit. Don’t look at me like that, you know you’ve been in that boat.

As for me, no sweaters for anyone taller than my cats this year. The Susan G. Komen 3-Day, the porch project, and several craft shows took all the so-called extra time that I eek out of the days, so handmade projects will be small this year. Besides, small projects are easier to wrap, and Amelia doesn’t care what size a knit project is, she thinks they all make good pillows.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Family nonsense, Gardening, House stuff, Knitting & Crochet, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

