The race is on

Last night I realized, like really realized, that Christmas is less than three weeks away. More like two weeks away for gifts that I need to mail, and there aren’t nearly enough handmade gifts in my gift tote… This really alarmed me as I pulled things out to wrap last night and at first I couldn’t figure out how I got all the way to December with such a small pile of knits to give. I mean, I make stuff all year round and I had made a list of what I wanted to give this year, and I have a room full of yarn and fabric and patterns.

And then I remembered that the past eight or nine months have been busier than usual for me – first with the 3Day walk taking up all my free time (never could quite master walking and knitting), plus extra craft shows, plus a vacation in August, and then with the porch project, and then with the hosting of Thanksgiving. Oi!

I had such grand plans for massive piles of hand knit socks and hats and mitts and cowls, and it just didn’t pan out that way. Don’t get me started on the sewing projects I had planned.  I was feeling pretty accomplished with the two hats I finished last weekend, until I realized that I had six more on my list…

It’s time for a reality check. I do have time to knock out a couple more hand knit items, but there’s no way I can accomplish my original goal of Handmade Gifts For All. I’m trying to be reasonable, and I know it’s not about the gifts but I dearly love making stuff for people…  I do have some baking planned, but I can’t help feeling like I’m facing a mad dash of frantic knitting and crafting and baking, with this looming clock ticking over my head, and that kind of sucks the joy out of the season.

Perhaps I need to take a trip to the book store.

Image

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

