Together in stitches

I knit in public roughly two hundred hours every year, and yet it’s rare that I see anyone else knitting or have someone talk to me about it. This morning I had two people start conversations about knitting, as I worked on my socks.

The first was sitting beside me and we chatted about her struggles knitting two socks at once (seems she ends up knitting them together into one tube), and the second came over to me and sat down explicitly to say she admired my yarn holding technique. We then proceeded to chat about how much we loved YouTube for knitting videos, and the many ways to hold yarn.

I should have told them both that they ought to knit in public, too – there’s a lot of knitters out there but most go incognito. If more knitters would whip out needles and yarn on the train perhaps it would help ward off the more common comments I get – things like, “my grandma used to knit”, or “I didn’t know anyone still did that”, or “why don’t you just buy socks at Walmart?”

20131211-082211.jpg

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

