Back behind the wheel

We had a wonderful Christmas, full of family and friends and food. I took a few days off work this year, which I am thoroughly enjoying. I’ve been knitting and spinning, making soap and shopping, watching movies and ignoring the mess in the house.

I haven’t spun in ages. Months, anyway. My oldest son gave me a couple ounces of yak fiber for Christmas, and I didn’t want to ruin it getting back into the groove of spinning, so Thursday night I packed up my wheel and headed to Knit Night for a bit of public spinning to remind myself how it went. Three of us had our wheels, and we didn’t lack for interested passersby. I got a full hank spun up, and then plied it on Friday. Ended up with 180 yards of lovely squishy wool (about 110 grams). I’m very happy with how it came out; only a couple of over-spun spots and the rainbow colors came together cheerfully.

(Fiber: Dicentra Designs)

I also spent time sewing – working on my daughter’s long-overdue quilt. It’s coming along; have a third of the center fully pieced now.

Speaking of my daughter, she got watercolor paints for Christmas, and I am super impressed with her artistic skills! She started a picture of an owl and I can’t get over the details in the eyes – all from watercolors.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Sewing & Quilting, Spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back behind the wheel

  1. Moni says:

    Wow, I like that skein a lot. The colors are stunning!
    I should look out for some knit/spin nights, it is so much fun to have company while spinning.

  2. Becky says:

    Love the yarn rainbow!! and tell Olivia I love her owl

Leave a Reply

