In the groove

Muscle memory is an amazing thing. Though it’s been months, my hands remembered how to spin and I did up a quick 109-yard, worsted-weight skein today (no pic, it’s still damp) and started on another hank. It’s 4 oz of BFL, and I split it into thirds so I can do a 3-ply yarn. I’m spinning it kind of fine, so it should end up around DK weight when it’s all done. Here’s the first bobbin (the color is more green IRL):

BFL singles

My spinning has gotten a lot better; here’s some early stuff, much more ‘rustic’ looking than the rainbow skein I finished last week:

Kind of fun though. That one on the left was a mixed batt; it has some sparkle in it, along with some silk. I’m thinking of pairing it with the plain wool on the right in a hat, maybe one round of each in stripes, since there isn’t quite enough of the green one.

I also finished knitting a pair of mitts, another gift for next year. I like how they don’t quite match. This is Liberty Wool, and the balls are similar but the color shifts are not identical. I can get two mitts from one ball, but I’m using two balls here because I wanted the mitts to be pretty close. The second half of the ball is mostly green.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Ravelry, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

