Happy New Year!

We had ourselves a quiet little New Year’s Eve at home; we made potato skins, drank lemon drops (the Girl had sparkling fruit juice), watched My Cousin Vinnie, and I spun up the rest of the green hank of Blue Faced Leicester wool.

And then I plied it. I don’t have a Lazy Kate, so I rigged one up in a shipping box with a couple of straight knitting needles. It worked, but it wasn’t fabulous – and the cats were far more interested in the box than I liked; Snickerdoodle shoved her head in to see what was going on and got tangled up in the singles. She then, of course, got freaked out and ran away – taking the yarn with her. Broken singles, huge tangle… But, I finally got the singles plied up into a true 3-ply yarn with only two breaks (thanks, cat) that I can hopefully disguise when I knit up the yarn. 170 yards total, of DK-weight. Enough for a hat or small cowl!

I also knit up most of that rustic hand spun I showed you the other day, into a pair of  Wrist Warmers. They are very thick and very warm. I still need to give them a soaking to soften up the wool a little, but here’s a quick pic:

My spinning goals this year are: 1) to knit more stuff with my hand spun, 2) learn to chain-ply, and 3) spend more time spinning so I get more consistent results, so that I can spin larger quantities (like maybe for a sweater).

Knitting goals this year are the same as always: knit more from the stash / buy less yarn. I am not holding my breath on that one.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

