Looking ahead

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I think they are silly and fraught with false hopes of changing behaviors that you would have already changed if you were going to. But, I do like to set goals, and a fresh calendar is as good a time as any to evaluate what I’d like to accomplish this year, and so I have decided on a few things.

1. Me and the hubs are going to take several mini-vacations this year. Not big, expensive, two-week trips but some 2- or 3- day excursions to explore what the area has to offer. I need to renew my passport this month so that we can bop over into Canada, should we decide to. We do plan on taking a “real” vacation sometime this year, but mixing in smaller breaks is important to us, too.

2. I would like to learn to chain-ply on the spinning wheel, so I’m going to make an effort to sit down to spin on a somewhat regular basis. I don’t know if this will be weekly or monthly, but I don’t want six months to go by without having touched the wheel, so I’m setting a goal of spinning a sweater’s worth of yarn – and that means I need to practice my consistency. And that means I have to spin more. And also, probably buy more fiber. 😉

3. I’m going to make the kids new Christmas stockings this year. I made them all felt stockings when they were small children, but they are all grown up now and we figured they ought to have grown up stockings to hang in their own homes (we’ll keep the felt ones). I started with the middle son for no particular reason other than it’s got non-traditional colors and I’m a little ‘done’ with red and green right now.

11723691416_d42b305b06_z4. De-crapping the house is a pretty big goal. We do take stuff to the donation drop-off fairly regularly, but there’s a couple of larger projects that we are really good about avoiding: cleaning out the attic, and organizing the garage. Well, I’m going to see if we can’t tackle these this year!

 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Family nonsense, House stuff, Knitting & Crochet, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

