Bag the granny

I am working on getting my craft room under control – and one way I’m tackling that is by ripping out projects I shall never finish in order to reclaim the yarn. Projects that seemed like a good idea many years ago and then ended up stuffed into a bag and abandoned in the back of a cupboard, that when rediscovered I had no recollection of what I liked about the project in the first place. I think a lot of knitters can relate.

Case in point: a long granny square vest, knit in cotton yarn. My color choices were, um, ‘interesting’, and the vest would have weighed about fifteen pounds had I ever finished it. Not to mention that granny square vests are a questionable fashion accessory in the best of times, and I am not the sort of person that can make quirky clothing look fashionable. At some point a grain of common sense kicked in and I realized I would never, ever wear the vest, and that it was an awful waste of forty dollars’ worth of yarn. And, into a cupboard it went.

As I said, it’s cotton yarn, in three colorways that go together a lot better as a bag than they do as a granny square vest, I can assure you. After frogging several dozen granny squares and winding the ramen yarn back into cakes, I cast on a market bag.

I have a lot of this yarn, especially the variegated one (a vest’s worth, as a matter of fact). There will be a lot of bag knitting during my daily commute, and a lot of bags in the Christmas box this year.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Getting Green, Knitting & Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

