Hope springs eternal

I have eaten hundreds of apples in my life. Maybe even thousands (we did have our own orchard for six years when I was growing up), and while I have bitten into more than a few worms, never have I experienced what I did yesterday: the seeds within were sprouting! Must have been a cold-storage apple and the wee buggers thought spring was here.

Wait, it is.

I couldn’t bring myself to toss the little darlings in the trash. I mean, come on – they were trying so hard to grow! So I did what any romantic green thumb would do: put them into a wet paper towel and tucked them into a baggie. Overnight, one of them shot out a root, and all are busting out of their confining shells. I take this as a sign that these little seeds have big, tree-sized goals.

I have no idea if it’s feasible to grow a producing apple tree from seed, but there’s no harm in trying. My grandpa always grafted his fruit trees. But hey – I’ll stick these guys in some dirt and see what they think. If someday, six or eight years from now, they decide to bear fruit, that would be great. If not, well, at least I gave it a go, right?

(oh, and the apple was delicious!)

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hope springs eternal

  1. talknshare says:

    You’ve not heard of Johnny Appleseed? Yes, apple trees are very often grown from seed.

    • wonkydonkey says:

      Apple trees grown from seed rarely produce sweet apples – they instead bear smaller, more sour apples, which are perfect for making hard cider (which is what was popular during Johnny Appleseed’s time, hence his success). Regardless, I still plan to try to grow these – if nothing else, they can become root stock for grafting tastier branches onto.

  2. wonkydonkey says:

    It’s got something to do with fruit trees being sexual, needing cross-pollination with another variety, and the resulting fruit doesn’t produce seeds that make the same combination because they only represent half of the equation (sort of like how children are the result of two halves from their parents). I was reading that a lot of sweet apples are cross-pollinated with crab apples, and that is the dominant trait that tends to come through in the seeds. So if I get fruit-bearing trees, the chances are good that they will be crab apples.

Leave a Reply

