Skeptical me

I have long been a fan of the heel flap. While I have tried other types of heels, I always fall back on the flap and gusset, and it fits my foot well so for years I never saw any reason to dabble in alternatives. Short-row heels (including afterthoughts) always pull across my instep. I am convinced I need the gusset.

And then a couple weeks ago I ran across the Fish Lips Kiss Heel, which is a short-row heel that doesn’t involve wraps or gussets and swears to fit just about any foot. I took that as a challenge, and decided that my Zauber Socks will have this heel. Part of me hopes it works, because on thinner socks it would be nice to have a less bulky heel; the other part of me hopes it doesn’t work so I can go back to my comfort circle and just knit a heel flap.

I made my foot template and am merrily knitting away on the foot, which is no different than any other sock.  There is a line on my template, right below where it says “size 9”, which is where I will start the Fish Lips heel. I think I’ll put in a lifeline beforehand, in case it doesn’t work out.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Ravelry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

