Updates

The WordPress app on my phone has quit working, which is super frustrating because I like to compose blog posts while on the train. I have things to show-and-tell:

I’m happy to announce that I finished the red Xmas stocking! It turned out great, I really like it. I’ll sew in a fabric liner to prevent snags.

That blue cowl is coming along nicely as well; it’s more than half done now. It looks pretty much the same (progress pics of scarves are not very exciting), so I won’t bother posting one until it’s done.

What I will post is the in-between projects I whipped out. I know, I said I was going to focus on a couple of projects and not start a bunch of new stuff, but don’t get all judgy on me. It’s my blog.

Granny slippers! They still need pompoms, and perhaps a round of single crochet at the ankle. Super cute, eh? I made a pink and blue pair as well, and have a third pair on the needles, in black and grey. These things go quickly and best of all: use up worsted weight yarn like there’s no tomorrow.

In fabric land: sometimes you just gotta buy yourself a present, so I splurged on a walking foot for my sewing machine. Man oh man, I can’t believe I didn’t buy one of these years ago!

It’s a little dark under there because I have a quilt shoved through the machine and it blocks the light, but that there walking foot is making the quilting go much more quickly (and smoothly). It clatters a bit and seems to work best if I don’t floor the speed pedal, but it makes up for it by not scrunching up my layers and making little unwanted pleats.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet, Sewing & Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

