Friday, Sunday, Friday

Today is Friday! Again! Makes for a crazy-feeling week when major holidays fall on Thursdays; I don’t take additional time off at the end of December, so I work the days surrounding Christmas and New Year’s Day. I’ve enjoyed the shortened weeks, but now it’s a long haul until our next holiday…

In knitting news – I finished the striped socks. The Fish Lips Kiss Heel worked out well without any added gusset stitches, and I think my next several pair will be in this style. It’s quick, easy, and requires minimal counting. Plus, without the traditional heel flap, the socks fit a little more closely and don’t add bulk in my shoes.

I do not, as a general rule, make New Year’s resolutions. That being said, I am a goal-setter and a planner, and a new calendar is a great time to plan out stuff or start a new process. A couple years ago I filled up a bunch of project bags with yarn and patterns; I got all but one done, and it was fun just grabbing a bag and casting on. There’s a fair amount of yarn in my stash, some that has been marinating for many years, and I feel like I ought to attempt to clean it up a bit. And by “clean it up” I mean knit the old stuff so I can make room for new stuff.

In that spirit, last night I cast on another pair of socks, in some really, really old Berroco Sox yarn. I have two skeins, but one of them was split into two balls (I was probably prepping to knit socks). They’re large, 100 gram balls, so one skein should be sufficient for a pair, but the skeins may not be complete (a lot can happen to yarn that ruminates in the stash for this long), so I am just knitting from two different skeins and we’ll see how it goes.

I also dug out a lovely skein of Madeline Tosh merino worsted, and a scrap bit of tosh light, to make a Howlcat. This is a fun, convertible, reversible, double-thick hat or cowl, and looks like a great way to use up single skeins and play with colors that might ordinarily never get put together. I have a recipient in mind for this one, but I also think it would be a great hat for next year’s Christmas knitting so there may be a few more on the horizon.

0102150809[1]

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday, Sunday, Friday

  1. chrisknits says:

    I love the howlcat! I like to do them in school colors so you can display whichever one you want.

  2. Planning Christmas presents already? Wow, you go girl!

Leave a Reply

