A good weekend

A very productive weekend was had around here, I must say. I fell into a fit of domesticity and baked, cleaned, and did yard work. The vegetable garden is now prepped and weeded; I planted the first crop of sugar snap peas and radishes, and I marveled at the beets that wintered over.

There are three of them, all a little slug-nibbled but I’m still impressed that they survived the winter. The garlic and onions are also doing well.

It’s a bit early to plant much else yet, we aren’t past our frost danger despite the warm winter we’ve had so far. I did buy all my seeds, though! The birds are also loving this early spring. The bird feeder is a popular hangout for the chickadees, robins, starlings, and stellar jays, and the hummingbirds are happy that we keep their feeder up all year.

On the house front, I did a little un-construction on the porch so that we can hopefully pass another inspection. Had to remove a couple of decking boards so they can verify the anchor bolts and joist hangers, and siding from one knee wall so they can check the framing. While I did that, the Mr. worked on plumbing – we are finally getting the water run to the garage so we can move the washing machine out there! The dryer has been out there for awhile, but the washer still lives in the hallway. Not very convenient, and we need the space for other uses.

I didn’t have a lot of time for knitting this weekend, but I am about to go sit and get caught up on my Temperature Scarf; I’ve got six days to do. The temps have been pretty steady in the 50s, so lots of blue and green in the scarf.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Knitting & Crochet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A good weekend

  1. That scarf is coming along nicely 🙂

Leave a Reply

