Yielding

Sometimes, you just have to let go and go with the flow. I’ve been super busy at work, which means I get almost nothing done around the house during the week — leaving a long list of things I need to get done on the weekend. Today was no different, and I awoke early, putting my chores in the order I needed to tackle them.

My body, however, decided I needed a little more sleep, having spent the past two weeks getting very interrupted sleep thanks to allergies and a good old fashioned common cold.
So, I went back to bed and my Saturday started a couple hours behind schedule. Nevertheless, I made a quick breakfast and got to it.

I got the bills paid and soap bookkeeping caught up, took a box to the post office, dropped a deposit at the bank,Β  popped into the grocery store for a couple of things, and returned home. Made a batch of soap, and then the Mr. suggested a little bike ride to a nearby lake. I resisted at first, thinking of the things I needed to get done – but it was a lovely day, and so I packed us a picnic lunch while he put air in the tires.

It was a great suggestion. We watched the birds and kids and dogs, enjoyed the warm sunshine and pedaled through the neighborhood. We even saw a pair of bald eagles!
We arrived back home in time to take the Girl to work, then we went and ordered me a couple pairs of prescription reading glasses, made a trip to the wine store for fortifications, and picked up a couple things at the kitchen store. Back home again in time to start dinner (and a batch of cookies), and then a bit of knitting while watching Harry Potter. I got to practice more yielding, as I worked on the Ski Socks (which refuse to match any more).

image

I had wanted to work on our porch today, but that didn’t happen. I also didn’t get any yard work done, nor did I get the floors swept or vacuumed. But I had a great day, and the chores will wait.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, The Great Outdoors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yielding

  1. That’s good πŸ™‚ Matching socks are overrated πŸ™‚ Taking time to enjoy yourself is very important, especially when you’ve been massively busy at work!

Leave a Reply

