Sharper needles

It’s been almost two years since I got my very own craft room, and it took me awhile to get the room settled and to figure out what would work and what wouldn’t. Mostly I’ve been focusing on getting the yarn and assorted crafts organized, but lately I’ve been pining to get back into sewing, and so I bought a pattern: the Wiksten Tank. Inspired by fellow blogger Fringe Association, I made myself a muslin in the size closest to my measurements (out of some really old “Noah” kid print fabric) and then proceeded to tailor the pattern to fit me better.

I needed a small dart at the upper bust to eliminate some gapping, I reduced the swoop at the hemline, and raised the front neckline about 5/8″ and lowered the back neckline the same amount. I also had to drop the armhole opening a little and adjust the width of the back because though the tank fit across the front just fine, it was too wide across the upper back. This is what I love about being able to sew my own clothes — I don’t have to put up with poorly fitting garments!

As you can see in the pattern piece above, I also played with adding ‘princess seams’ to the front because in some fabrics (such as the stiff cotton I used for my muslin), the tank bells out like a maternity top. In a fabric with more drape it would not be an issue, but I plan on making a couple of summer tops in cotton and wanted just a little more shaping to the top. My first run at the shaping seams was too extreme, so I’ll make it a bit narrower on the next version.

All in all, I had a really good time getting back into the whole customizing thing. I got a second tank nearly done (just needs binding at the neck & armholes) and it’s not too bad. I have some gorgeous silky fabrics laying in wait to become fancier shirts that I can layer beneath light jackets or scarves, and I desperately need some casual tanks in my summer wardrobe. This pattern includes a longer version that can be worn as a summer dress (or nightie); for that, I don’t think I’d use the shaping darts or adjust the hemline (though I’d keep the bust dart).

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Sewing & Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

