Hitting the books

18679391

Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy – by Karen Abbott.

I picked the book for this month’s book club, and I’m not quite halfway through it – but I am finding it an enjoyable read (for a history book). It’s about the Civil War, and four women in particular who were not content with society’s view of a woman’s place. They each, in their way, supported the war and showed tremendous bravery and chutzpah. The women also interacted with a wide range of historical figures, including President Lincoln, Stonewall Jackson, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.

Our book club meeting is on Sunday, and like I said – I’m only halfway through the book. I’ll be reading instead of knitting on the train this week!

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.