One of those weeks

Have you ever had one of those weeks where, at every turn, you were faced with problems, errors, frustrations, and general failure by just about everything you encountered? It seemed to be the week where every pencil I picked up had a broken lead, the highlighters ran dry, I couldn’t find the Post-Its, and my notepads wandered away.

Plus, a frustratingly long span of time was spent on the phone with three different client service reps at our payroll account, because the payroll system wouldn’t let me record zero regular hours for a salaried employee who was on vacation and the reps couldn’t figure out how to override that in their fancy new online payroll platform. I can’t believe we are the first company to have an employee on vacation for two consecutive weeks. You’d think a payroll system could handle that.

There were several discussions with consultants about billing issues on their invoices, which will hold up our invoice to the client.

I got to spend a good chunk of time on the phone with Microsoft technical support, trying to get an installation file (for a Microsoft software) to work on a new (Windows) computer.

There was a call from our property managers about how we aren’t allowed to tape worksheets, not even temporarily while doing a brainstorming session, to windows in the conference room, despite those particular windows facing a courtyard where few people could see them.

And medical insurance renewal quotes came back in, and the increases are staggering. Fun times explaining that to everyone.

Sooooo glad there’s just one more day left in the week…

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One of those weeks

  1. Oh dear, hope it all starts making more sense soon!

  2. chrisknits says:

    i feel your pain. I went from my Mac which is basically dead, to my daughter’s old PC. It wouldn’t let me get my email despite having allowed me to the day before. Spent time with my Internet provider which yielded no success as the computer would not accept any password we tried to create. The next day, it worked fine!

Leave a Reply

