Sidebar

The conference was fantastic! Downtown Cincinnati has done a lot of revitalization projects and it’s making a huge difference in the vibrancy and safety of the downtown core.  I could have spent another couple days checking out the museums and parks and restaurants.
But I had to come home, so bright and early this morning, I headed to the airport. Made it through security painlessly, had a lovely breakfast, and headed to my gate.
A long series of problems with the airplane left us way behind schedule and I missed my connecting flight when we finally got to Chicago. I was very tired, anxious, and frustrated – and the airline tried to get me on another flight home today but it just wasn’t meant to be. With a morning flight booked, and hotel voucher in hand, I decided to make the most of this delay and headed out to explore Chicago a bit.
Their rail system sure puts ours to shame! My first time in this city and I was able to get across town on two different trains and find a yarn store.

image

Bought a few skeins at Windy Knitty and took the salesperson’s advice on a pizza place up the street.
Back to the trains. It’s crazy in places, with buildings right up against the tracks and no walls so that the track bed just hangs over the road below. I couldn’t help but wonder how often rocks fall down onto cars.

image

image

It’s impressive how many people they move around; the trains came every few minutes, roaring down the tracks.
Anyway, I toodled around a bit, looking at buildings. Really liked the narrow townhouses in the Bryn Mawr neighborhood.

image

And eventually made my way back to the hotel for dinner and a shower. It’s going to be another early morning, and I have my fingers crossed that my flight is uneventful.

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

