Baby steps

I’m making a concerted effort to be healthier – and while that includes losing weight, I know myself well enough to know that drastic measures will make me miserable and fail in the long run. So, small steps. 

I joined a gym and have been going a few times a week. Last week I met with a personal trainer to learn exercises that would not irritate my knees. And, I’m cleaning up my food choices.

I’ve known for a long time that I feel better of I keep my grain consumption down well below the recommended daily amounts – way, way below – and one or two servings daily is about right. More than that and I experience fatigue, headaches, and bloating. I had fallen back into the habit of eating several servings a day, and my belt protested. A few days of grain-free has me feeling good and three pounds of water weight gone (the bloat is real).

I’m working on making better choices this week. Breakfast was a hardboiled egg and a handful of unsalted nuts. 

Today’s lunch does have red whole wheat (pretzels), which has decent fiber and protein levels to offset the carbohydrates. Still, one small serving is sufficient. 

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Health & Wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby steps

  1. Tina says:

    Good for you. Like you say, baby steps and I’m sure you will do it. Good luck x

Leave a Reply

