Not derailed, just delayed

Had a minor knitting setback on my way home last night; one of my bamboo DPNs splintered in my hand. I only had a set of 4 with me, but at home I have many DPNs so today I’m back on track, and no stitches were sacrificed during the mishap.

And I’m getting other things in order. While I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, I do like to view the upcoming year as a chance to improve upon things in my life. I have already re-worked my student loan payment plan to pay it off in three years (or less) instead of the 8 that it is set up for (it has a nice, low interest rate of 2%, so it’s not a huge incentive to pay it off other than not carrying the debt). I’ve also accelerated our house payments to get that bugger paid for ahead of schedule.

I was doing pretty well in 2016 with cleaning up my eating habits, but my willpower fell victim to the holidays and I’m feeling the results. There’s nothing like a cookie binge to make you realize just how crappy all that sugar and wheat makes you feel! But I’m back on track today, with simple meats, eggs, cheese, and veggies. I can do this. I got a couple of new cookbooks for Christmas that have simple and clean recipes that I look forward to trying.

Happy New Year!

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Family nonsense, Knitting & Crochet, Money, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not derailed, just delayed

  1. Yeah, Christmas can be really difficult for eating simply :/ Well done for getting back otno it though!

  2. Ich wuensche ein gutes und gesundes neues Jahr.

    Liebe Gruesse

    Monika

Leave a Reply

