Lesson learned (maybe)

After working on the grey Wyrt socks for several days and two flights, the reason for their original grounding became known (again), when I tried them on yesterday.  

The cables are lovely, but they – and the short row heel in the pattern – make them quite uncomfortable and unflattering to wear… The cables end up spaced so that they pull tightly across the instep, distorting the sock and creating a rather sharp crease that pinches the top of my foot. Sigh. 

I recall now that I discovered this when I was first trying them on for the foot length, and set them aside until I could figure out what to do about it. That memory got buried by time, so when I pulled the socks from the WIP box I just merrily picked up where I left off…

Note to self: it’s a good idea to write down, perhaps on the pattern, the reason a project is going on hold. That, along with marking the exact row at which you stopped, will save you many hours and much frustration later. 

I was so irritated that I immediately frogged the socks, and cast on a new pair in a more cheerful colorway and infinitely simpler pattern.

These are Hermione’s Everyday Socks, in Socks That Rock. I adore this yarn, and the confetti-like colors are certainly a welcome diversion from Seattle’s ongoing rainy season. 

(PS: I will reuse the grey yarn, it’s lovely Hazel Knits – just with a different pattern.)

About wonkydonkey

You want random? You got it. Mostly knitting and gardening, with some home improvements, pets, baking, family, and the occasional bad joke thrown in for good measure. This blog is mine; it is a place where I can insist upon proper grammar or break my own rules and degrade into slang on a whim. Either way, it's still mine. I love the Internet.
This entry was posted in Knitting & Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson learned (maybe)

  1. Excellent plan all around really 🙂 Enjoy the Hermione socks

Leave a Reply

